Search ASME: search

Divisions > Dynamic Systems & Control Division (DSCD)

Division Interests
Division Publications
DSCD Technical Committees
Division Administration



The Dynamics Systems and Control Division sponsors the following division awards. The awards are presented at the ASME Dynamic Systems and Controls Conference each year.

Awards given every year:

Awards given in odd years:

Awards given in even years:

View the Guidelines and Nomination Instructions for all DSCD Awards.


Honorariums cannot be distributed without receipt of a W-9 Tax Form. Please complete the form and return it to ASME:

Attn: Melissa Torres


Rufus T. Oldenburger Medal

2017 Miroslav Krstic
University of California, San Diego

2016 Jean–Jacques Slotine
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2015 Manfred Morari
Professor, ETH Zurich
Computation and Uncertainty: The Past, Present and Future of Control
Citation: For his pioneering theoretical contributions to process control, hybrid system analysis, and model predictive control and for his practical applications to biomedical engineering, chemical process control and automotive systems.

2014 Bob Bitmead
University of California, San Diego
Connections: Control on Constraints, Traffic Instabilities and Healthcare Service Scheduling

Rudolph Kalman Best Paper Award

2016 Galip Ulsoy

2015 Davide Spinello and Daniel J. Stilwell
“Distributed full-state observers with limited communication and application to cooperative target localization,” ASME Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement and Control, Volume 136, May 2014.

2014 Zheng Shen and Christopher D. Rahn
“Physics-Based Model of a Valve-Regulated Lead-Acid Battery and an Equivalent Circuit,” ASME Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement and Control, Volume 135, July 2013.

2011 Aravind Seshadri and Prabhakar R. Pagilla

2012 Nicoleta Minoiu Enache, Saïd Mammar, Benoit Lusetti and Yazid Sebsadj

Nyquist Lecturer

2016 Mark Spong

2015 Miroslav Krstic
Alspach Endowed Chair, Distinguished Professor, University of California, San Diego
Extremum Seeking and its Applications

2014 Naomi Ehrich Leonard
Edwin S. Wilsey Professor, Princeton University
On the Nonlinear Dynamics of Collective Decision-Making in Nature and Design

2011 Mathukumalli Vidyasagar

2012 Manfred Morari

Yasundo Takahashi Education Award

2015 Jacob Akarian
Citation: For his outstanding and unique contributions to control systems education through creative design of mechatronic devices and real-time systems for a broad section of academic researchers and students to explore and experiment with control algorithms.

2013 Devendra P. Garg

2011 Ronald C. Rosenberg

Outstanding Young Investigator Award

2015 Rifat Sipahi
Citation: For his fundamental research contributions to stability theory and control design of time-delayed systems and its use across several fields of science and engineering, including applied physics, robotics, biology, and social science.

2013 Maurizio Porfiri

2011 Warren Dixon

Charles Stark Draper Innovative Practice Award

2016 Andrew Alleyne

2014 Ranjan Mukerjee, Professor, Michigan State University
Citation: For fundamental contributions to the modeling and control of underactuated systems with applications to robotics.

2012 Anthony M. Phillips

Henry M. Paynter Outstanding Investigator Award

2016 Miroslav Krstic

2014 Andrew Alleyne, Ralph and Catherine Fisher Professor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Citation: For basic discoveries in learning and nonlinear control solutions, and for the modeling, simulation and control of thermal energy systems.

2012 Asok Ray

Michael J. Rabins Leadership Award

2016 Huei Peng

2014 Dawn Tilbury, Professor, University of Michigan
Citation: For providing sustained leadership to the Dynamic Systems and Control Division, serving as Program Chair and General Chair to the American Control Conference, holding multiple journal editor roles, and for establishing avenues integrating DSCD with industry.

2012 Jeffrey L. Stein

2015 DSCC Best Student Paper Award

Student Name

Paper Title


Molong Duan

Tracking Control of Non-Minimum Phase Systems Using Filtered Basis Functions: a NURBS-Based Approach

Chinedum Okwudire

Chaozhe He

Hybrid System Based Analytical Approach for Optimal Gear Shifting Schedule Design

Gabor Orosz

Daniel Meyer

Sliding Mode Control for Heart Rate Regulation of Electric Bicycle Riders

Masayoshi Tomizuka

Ramin Bighamian

A Control-Oriented Model of Blood Volume Response to Hemorrhage and Fluid Resuscitation

Jin-Oh Hahn

Jiechao Liu

An MPC Algorithm with Combined Speed and Steering Control for Obstacle Avoidance in Autonomous Ground Vehicles

Tulga Ersal

Prasad S Divekar

Diesel Engine Fuel Injection Control using a Model-Guided Extremum-Seeking Method

Xiang Chen

2015 Best Student Mechatronics Paper Award

Kuo Chen
"An integrated physical-learning model of physical human-robot interactions: A bikebot riding example"
2014 Dynamic Systems and Control Conference

2015 Best Mechatronics Conference Paper Award

Agus Hasan
"Adaptive boundary control and observer of linear hyperbolic systems with application to managed pressure drilling"
2014 Dynamic Systems and Control Conference

2015 Best Student Robotics Paper Award

Harish Ravichandar
"Learning contracting nonlinear dynamics from human demonstration for robot motion planning"
2015 Dynamic Systems and Control Conference

2015 Best Robotics Conference Paper Award

Priyanshu Agarwal, Benito Fernandez and Ashish Deshpande
"Assist-as-needed controllers for index finger module of a hand exoskeleton for rehabilitation"
2015 Dynamic Systems and Control Conference

2015 Best Energy Systems Conference Paper Award

Molong Duan
"Tracking Control of Non-Minimum Phase Systems Using Filtered Basis Functions: a NURBS-Based Approach"

Copyright © 1996-2010 ASME International. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Statement